Sign In

Parking will be limited at the Floyd Medical Center campus, including the Emergency Care Center, due to construction and road widening. Learn more about our parking changes.

Skip Navigation LinksFloyd > Services > Emergency and Trauma Care > Why Choose Atrium Health Floyd?

​​​Why Choose Us?

Atrium Health Floyd has been caring for patients who need emergency or trauma care for decades. We provide care to patients with life-threatening illnesses or injuries in four locations spanning our service area across northwest Georgia and northeast Alabama.

Floyd Medical Center Level II Trauma Center

Atrium Health Floyd Medical Center became the state's first designated trauma center in 1981. It is the only Level II Trauma Center in northwest Georgia.

Floyd's trauma center serves 16 counties in Georgia and four counties in Alabama.

Recent enhancements to Floyd Medical Center's trauma services are the result of new requirements for Level I and Level II Trauma Centers in Georgia. The state now requires that Level I and Level II Trauma Centers meet the requirements of the American College of Surgeons.

The ACS requires higher-level, on-site trauma services including around-the-clock call arrangements for dedicated specialists who meet response time requirements for traumatic injuries.

To ensure it would exceed ACS standards, Floyd Medical Center added staff and made numerous improvements to its trauma program:

  • Clarence “Mac" McKemie, M.D., Harbin Clinic general surgeon, joined Atrium Health Floyd as full-time trauma medical director and surgeon.
  • Floyd added dedicated around-the-clock surgical coverage.
  • Two traumatologists joined Atrium Health Floyd, becoming the first in northwest Georgia to specialize in the repair of complex fractures that frequently occur with trauma.
  • Constructed a $4 million helipad for air ambulances at the North Second Avenue entrance to the hospital's Emergency Care Center.​

Level II Trauma Centers:​

  • Include 24-hour immediate coverage by general surgeons, as well as coverage by the specialties of orthopedic surgery, neurosurgery, anesthesiology, emergency medicine, radiology and critical care
  • Provide trauma prevention and continuing education programs for staff
  • Incorporate a comprehensive quality assessment program

Polk Medical Center Emergency Care Center

Atrium Health Floyd Polk Medical Center is recognized as a Level IV Trauma Center by the Georgia Department of Public Health.

​A Level IV designation means that Polk Medical Center can stabilize injured patients, if needed, to ensure they can safely be transferred to a higher level of care.

The Polk Medical Center Emergency Care Center is staffed 24/7 by an on-site board-certified physician. 

Cherokee Medical Center Emergency Room 

​The Emergency Room at Atrium Health Floyd Cherokee Medical Center provides emergency evaluation, stabilization and treatment for ill or injured patients. Patients needing more complex care for traumatic or life-threatening injuries or illnesses can be transferred to Floyd Medical Center or another appropriate facility through Atrium Health Floyd EMS.

Chattooga Emergency Department

The stand-alone Atrium Health Floyd Chattooga Emergency Department, a facility of Atrium Health Floyd Medical Center provides residents of Chattooga and Walker counties and northeast Alabama with critical access to care for life-threatening illnesses and injuries. The facility is staffed 24/7 by an on-site board certified physician.

Floyd EMS

The care emergency and trauma patients receive even before they arrive at the hospital is a key part of Atrium Health Floyd's region wide​ response. 

Providing almost 60 years of care, Floyd Emergency Medical Services provides emergency ambulance and non-emergency transport services to residents of Floyd and Chattooga Counties in Georgia and Cherokee County in Alabama. Floyd EMS also provides specialized neonatal transport for critically ill infants to our Level II NICU. ​

In addition, Floyd EMS provides event support and health screenings to schools, civic organizations, churches and other groups in the community.

Regional Response and Involvement

Floyd Medical Center is the Region C Coordinating Hospital for Health Care Preparedness. That means the hospital spearheads region wide​ initiatives when responding to health care-related crises. 

Region C includes the counties of Bartow, Carroll, Chattooga, Coweta, Floyd, Haralson, Heard and Polk.